addressbook

Questions & Answers

Creating your Cards

Q: After signing up, what should I do?
A: You will automatically be directed to your profile page. Complete your profile with the requested information. You decide what information you share by ticking the corresponding checkbox for each type of card. You can modify this information at any time. Don't forget to save!

Q: What kind of information can I manage in my profile?
A: You can manage your addresses, telephone numbers, or IM logins. You can indicate how you know your contacts and share your CV. You can also manage opt-ins for professional contacts. Reminder: Your contact will only see the information on the card(s) that you share. That is, the information that is ticked accordingly on your profile page.

Q: Why are there four different types of cards?
A: With addressbook™ you can give out 4 types of cards in order to adapt the information you share with your contacts. These four cards - Personal, Pro, Company, and Public - provide specific information that you would like to share. You can choose to share from one to four cards per person.

Q: How do you determine who receives what card?
A: When you have decided on the content of each card, you can then choose which card(s) you would like to share with each contact. Reminder: It doesn't matter what card your contact shares with you. It is the card that YOU share that determines what information is shared. Your contact only sees the information that you share with him or her, but doesn't know what type of card you've selected.

Q: What is the Perso card?
A: This is your Personal card. It is for your friends and family. You can add your home phone and mailing address, for example.

Q: What is the Pro card?
A: This is for recruiters, professional associations or alumni groups. You can add information such as your cell phone and personal email but not your office number as you may not want headhunters to call you at work.

Q: What is the Company card?
A: You can share this card with your suppliers, customers and partners. Show your office phone number and work email, for example. If you have a Premium account and are part of a Corporate group in addressbook™, the contacts with whom you share this card will be visible in the Marketing Database by your colleagues and managers.

Q: What is the Public card?
A: This card allows someone who is looking for you to find you on the Internet. Choose the information that you add to this card carefully because, unlike the other three cards, the information that you share on the Public card can be seen and used by everyone.

Q: What do my contacts see when I share one or several of my cards?
A: Your contacts see the content of the shared cards, but they do not see which cards were specifically shared. To see what information you have selected for each card, you can preview the content at any time by clicking on the 4 corresponding tabs of your profile.

Q: Where do my contacts see the information on the cards that I have shared?
A: In the address book of your contacts, they click on your name. The content of the card(s) you have shared is displayed on the right side of the screen.

Q: What do I do after completing my profile?
A: When you have finished filling in your cards, click on the Contact tab at the top of the page to see your addressbook™. You can now invite your contacts! Note: For help, click on "?" on the Contacts page.

Q: Where do I go to use my address book?
A: At any time, you can consult, add or delete your contacts in your addressbook™ by clicking on the Contacts tab at the top of the page.

Adding Contacts

Q: How do I add contacts to my addressbook™?
A: Click on the "+" sign under the column called "Contacts". A window to add your contacts will open where you can choose one of the three proposed methods: Search existing contacts in addressbook™; Add contacts by email invitations; Import your contacts from LinkedIn, Gmail, Outlook or Yahoo.

Q: How do I add contacts that already have an addressbook™ account?
A: Click on the "+" sign under the column called "Contacts". A window to add your contacts will open and under Option 1, enter the full or partial name of your contact in the field. Choose the desired contact by clicking on the "+" sign associated with his or her name. Then select the card(s) you would like to share. Your contact will receive an invitation by email and on his or her wall. Your contact will appear in your addressbook™ as soon as he or she accepts your invitation.

Q: How do I invite contacts by email?
A: Click on the "+" sign under the column called "Contacts". A window to add your contacts will open, and under Option 2, enter one or several emails. Click on the button "Add". Choose the cards you would like to share with each contact. Those contacts who already have an addressbook™ account have the "e" sign in front of their name.

Q: How do I import my contacts from LinkedIn, Gmail, Outlook, or Yahoo?
A: Click on the "+" sign under the column called "Contacts". A window to add your contacts will open. Click on the button "Import" at the bottom of the window. Choose the tool from which you would like to import and follow the indicated procedure.

Q: How do I modify the name of the groups in bold?
A: These groups are displayed by default. You cannot modify the names. According to the card that YOU share with your contact, he or she will be displayed in these groups automatically: "My Perso contacts", "My Pro contacts", "My Company contacts".

Q: Who are in the groups that are displayed in bold?
A: According to the card(s) that you have shared with your contact, he or she will be displayed in these groups automatically. For example, if you share your Company card with a contact, he or she will be displayed in your "My Company contacts" group automatically. He or she will thus have access to any information you have ticked in your profile for the Company card.

/cgi-bin/WebObjects/AddressBook.woa/wa/getTerms?type=privacy&lang=en&scope=addressbook
/cgi-bin/WebObjects/AddressBook.woa/wa/getTerms?type=cgu&lang=en&scope=addressbook